Sanctuary and Serenity

The Sun Came Up – Dntd Knight

Posted on: April 3, 2010


The sun came up.  It rose and rose and brightened my day; nine years ago.
On that day my daughter came into my life.  I remember my glow.
She was  two, cute, with curls like Shirley Temple.
It was then that I knew, I had to be her example.
With fascination I watched her.  Talked to her, and beamed with pride.
At age 3 her mom became my bride.
We are now a family.  I cried tears of joy.
A family? I never had that when I was a boy.
My daughter and I embarked on a wonderful journey into each other’s life.
Through the good times, the bad, through happiness and through strife.
I especially remember the times we would play.
We’d play Barbies or whatever; it was her day.
As she got older her taste in toys would change.
We’d play board games, video games, we had quite the range.
I think now; that we have a relationship that is good and strong.
Father and Daughter what a happy song!
There is an ache in my heart that I know feels wrong.
She is getting older and older, soon she’ll be married and gone.
The very thought of it makes me start to cry.
Where in the world did the time fly by?
She has a great sense of humor that I hope in part is because of me.
She is a great child.  With lots of integrity.
I am glad that I took the time to spend with my child.
Time goes by too quick; And sneaks by soooo mild.
The sun came up today!  As i reflect.
I give my  daughter total respect.
She runs up to me calling “Daddy!” and giving me a big hug and a kiss.
I’ll love her for as long as I live, I promise her this……….

Mark

Leave a Reply

  • faithfulwoman4you: Some people are drama queens and need a lot of turmoil in their lives!! In a way thats sad, because it is nice to have peace and serenity but alas the
  • Writing Lessons from Dr. Seuss | Tess Fragoulis – Writer: […] them, and can still recite good portions of How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Too Many Daves, and The Zax, which I even acted out in my bedroo
  • serenityunicorn: You are very welcome! Sorry it took me so long... haven't really been on my blogs in a long time lol
