Sanctuary and Serenity

The Whole Truth.

Posted on: March 26, 2010


Telling My Truth.
When I start to tell the truth about my abuse I will notice that the voice of my abuser deep inside me will sometimes get louder and try to be more convincing.  The offender will try to tell me that I may be imagining the abuse, that he would never do such a thing, and maybe that I am crazy.  It isn’t until I really listen to the small, wise and truthful voice of that small inner-child that I can start to heal.  It is when I listen to this voice inside, and believe me no matter what I am hearing, that I can start to trust my adult-self.  As I hear and tell my truths, I start to be set free from the bonds of all those lies that I have believed in for so long – lies that may have cost me my life, my sanity, and my self.
I can start by telling my truth(s) – as I begin to know of them – to those safe people who will believe me, and not pity me.  As I get stronger I will know when I feel safe telling people that I may not know so well.  This is how I will connect with, get support from, and perhaps in time, help other survivors.

Leave a Reply

  • faithfulwoman4you: Some people are drama queens and need a lot of turmoil in their lives!! In a way thats sad, because it is nice to have peace and serenity but alas the
  • Writing Lessons from Dr. Seuss | Tess Fragoulis – Writer: […] them, and can still recite good portions of How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Too Many Daves, and The Zax, which I even acted out in my bedroo
  • serenityunicorn: You are very welcome! Sorry it took me so long... haven't really been on my blogs in a long time lol
