Sanctuary and Serenity

Taking Back My Power!

Posted on: March 26, 2010


Taking Back My Power!
Victims/survivors of childhood sexual abuse sometimes spend many hours, days, years, waiting for someone to finally come and rescue them.  This is childlike thinking and it might keep us locked in a negative mode of refusing to take responsibility for our own lives.  We might have assumed surface responsibilities – working, socializing, supporting ourselves financially, emotionally, maybe even thriving in this area.  To everyone else, we may appear to be in perfect control of our own destiny.
In real life, we have this tiny inner-child who is still waiting for someone to take care of all those unmet emotional needs.  A basic part of growing up and, indeed, healing is realizing that no one else is going to do that for us.  It is my job now.  It belonged to my caregivers at one time, but now I am an adult.  I am the one who can help to meet the emotional needs of my inner-child.  She deserves to be attended to.
As I am willing to take simple responsibilities for my own life as an adult, I start to take back my power.  I have cheated myself out of this opportunity for growth by waiting for someone else to supply that power for me.
I realize that I must keep on taking back my power from the abuser who originally took it and left me a victim.  I will allow that abuser to have less of my power as I grow into taking back more responsibility for my own health.  This affirms my inner-child and renames her a survivor – not a victim.  Taking back my power is very empowering, and will help me to grow and become strong.

Leave a Reply

