Sanctuary and Serenity

My Own Higher Power.

Posted on: March 26, 2010


My Own Higher Power.
Because my first experience of a *higher power* was my parents…in my abusive family, I quickly learned that my higher power was not safe, that *it* loved me conditionally…and that I would be punished or abandoned if I made mistakes.  No wonder I may have felt hopelessness and confusion.  I may have firmly believed that no one was going to be there for me, no one.
As an adult in recovery, I can create my own higher power…I can choose what or who to believe in, and fill my mind and soul with the missing attributes that were required as a child.  I know I deserve to be alive, and a loving force will support my choices in this life.  My own higher power can be nurturing, caring and safe for me.

Leave a Reply

