Sanctuary and Serenity

I Am Not Alone.

Posted on: March 26, 2010


I Am Not Alone.
When I feel utterly alone, I remind myself that my Higher Power is with me and knows how I feel.  This concept may be hard to trust, but if I keep affirming this, I will start to believe it.
My sexual abuse experience taught me that I was alone and there would be no help or support.  I held that feeling of total aloneness and may carry it with me on a daily basis.  This is where hopelessness lives and flourishes.
I need to affirm that I am not a helpless or frightened child any longer.  I am an adult, and I have many choices.  One of those choices is to reach out to others and tell them how I feel.  I can feel my feelings about having been left so alone and helpless, and use my adult-self to reassure her of protection, and help.
My inner-child may have some difficulty with believing in a Higher Power because she may not yet have had the experience of someone “coming through” for her.  As I am able to be there for her and let others be there for her too, I nurture her need to believe in a protective, loving spiritual being.

Leave a Reply

