Sanctuary and Serenity

Flattering Clothing.

Posted on: March 26, 2010


I Deserve to Wear Flattering Clothing
Wearing clothes that flatter or reveal the shape of your body does not mean you are “asking” to be abused.  This is a valid fear for the inner child…and as an adult, you may, at times, have tried dressing to compliment your body, but could never quite feel confident that this was OK or healthy.
As I recovering from my abuse, I learn that I don’t have to hide my body with shapeless or colorless clothing.  I can let go of the shame about my body and know that its shape is truly beautiful and worthy of my respect.
I know that the way I choose to dress today, is up to me, and is not a reflection of my sexual intentions.  I can choose clothes that flatter my body and I can proclaim my femininity.  I don’t have to worry that how I dress myself will determine the behaviour of anyone else.  This is not possible.  I know that I have no control over others’ thoughts, feelings, or behaviour!
I am free to dress myself exactly as I wish – to embrace my sexuality. If old feelings resurface and I feel unsafe with how I express myself, I can listen and acknowledge those feelings and reassure myself of my rights.  I should never fear that the sight alone of my body will bring abuse from anyone.

Leave a Reply

