Sanctuary and Serenity

*Care*givers.

Posted on: March 26, 2010


I Deserved Caregivers that Loved and Nurtured Me.
We are born into this world as tiny, precious, and helpless.  We were deserving of unconditional love and positive nurturing from our *care*givers.  We are all gifts to be cherished and should have been recipients of the caring and love that enable us to thrive as healthy, whole human beings.  When we were sexually abused by trusted caregivers, we quickly learned that people were there to cause us pain and we were at the mercy of those “big people.”
I may have received bits and pieces of love and nurturing, but it was tainted by the abuse.  I received many confusing messages from them about my worth and questioned my place in the world.
I need to grieve the nonexistence of my mother and father as I would have them in my fantasies.  As a small child I held on to images of loving, caring parents.  This is how I survived.  To accept reality today, and help to heal my authentic self, I must eventually, gradually come to grips with the sad fact that I didn’t receive that unconditional love, nurturing, and protection that every single, precious child deserves!
I must start to see my real parents as real people and grieve the losses of my “fantasy” parents.  This can be a long and very painful process; yet if I don’t go through it, I will rob myself of needed healing.  I can learn and appreciate that my inner-child and I survived despite the lack of basic necessities of life.  I get to have all my feelings about this loss and as I move through the painful process, I am also learning to get on with my own real life.

Leave a Reply

  • faithfulwoman4you: Some people are drama queens and need a lot of turmoil in their lives!! In a way thats sad, because it is nice to have peace and serenity but alas the
  • Writing Lessons from Dr. Seuss | Tess Fragoulis – Writer: […] them, and can still recite good portions of How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Too Many Daves, and The Zax, which I even acted out in my bedroo
  • serenityunicorn: You are very welcome! Sorry it took me so long... haven't really been on my blogs in a long time lol
